Bra

Yes, this is the title of my post.

Part of my concern when I was coming back was about having all my blessings restored which meant that I would have to wear those “sacred garments” again. One of the thing that I thought was absolutely dumb was the fact that we had to wear our bra ON the garments. I don’t know about the US but in France it is considered by the medical field as a sign of mental unbalance and this can get you really in trouble. A very candid friend of mine told me that you just tell them that it is for religious purpose. this gentle young man never had to deal with those people.

With my mother’s situation I have learned that once they have decided something about you anything you’ll say will just make it worse so if they decide  that you are crazy because you wear your bra above any type of close you should NOT tell them it is for religious purpose. We are NOT in the US where crazy religious habits are ok. You are allowed to believe the craziest things ever such as someday you can become like God and that God has a wife. Whatever you believe is ok as long as you don’t dress or behave differently.
Anyway it is now ok to wear your bra above you garments. Not that it is encouraged, young women going through the temple for the first time are invited to think about the garments and what they represent and to decide for themselves what is best.
I don’t need to think about what those garments represent but what my bra is.
Is it a piece of sassy clothe that I wear out of lust to feel sexy and seductive?
It could be but then I would totally and absolutely remove it all!
No, my bra is there for health and comfort reasons not to drive my mind away from any sacred purpose!
For now I still wear my bra ON the garments out of habit and I don’t think I will change this because eventually I have come at peace with this issue (the bra was not really the issue, it was only the top of the iceberg) but now I feel better that if someday for some reasons I feel better wearing it UNDER I won’t have to have a second thought no matter what the reason could be.

YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

That was the positive part of going through the temple with my sister.

6 thoughts on “Bra

  1. Wow, really? The things women put each other through. I wouldn’t think it would matter what order you wore your underwear with garments, so long as you were actually wearing them. If you decided to wear your garments over your parka, then I could understand concern, but determining the order of clothes no one else will see?
    I recall that my father wears his underwear under his garments, just to keep the garments clean. We do seem to like to make up such precise rules to keep each other in line, don’t we?

  2. Gwen, I had to laugh at your post title.

    To follow up on Frank’s comment, I know some members who wear regular underwear with garments over them – specifically because they want to keep the garments cleaner and less like “underwear”.

    I have NO problem at all with that, and my wife has worn her underwear beneath her garments during her period and when nursing our children.

    I believe that how we wear them is of no concern, really, as long as we are respectful of them in our decision. My own “ideal” is to wear tthem over anything else people might wear as underwear – but that’s just me and my perspective. I don’t really care very much.

  3. I am so happy that this post is the one that generated some long answer from the both of you.
    Geeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeez
    Frank it is not women who made us go through this it is actually men since this was the recommendation when going through the temple the first time. So yes it was stupid.

    Ray, yes but I still have this old pavlovian thing about this being a “no no” thing and that I must be a slut if I want to wear them above. Do you think this is an inappropriate word? Well this is how I was really raised. Of course my mother will deny it. Then whoever raised me made me feel this way about it.

  4. “Slut” is not inapropriate, especially if it means “slut”. lol

    Yeah, I understand the pavlovian instinct. We tend to fall back on our upbringing in a lot of cases **when we didn’t have other options modeled for us**. So, once you get over the pavolovian thing, start a new model of your own. 😀

  5. It’s nice to know that although not encouraged, both ways are now accepted. I’ve gotten used to wearing mine over my garments. The only time I’m really bugged is during my period; but then again, I’ve grown used to that as well. I find that wearing my garments under my bra actually reduces some of the rubbing I used to occasionally experience. You know, when the bra band rubs a sensitive spot or something. None of that anymore! nice. 🙂

  6. Mikki this is exactly what I told my little sister about it. Of course she thinks they are ugly and does NOT look forward to wearing them. I have a hard time disagreeing with her but maybe for the carinessa kind that look more like some kind of sport outfit and feels better too.

    Yeah, the period part is the worse even if I wear some regular underwear too.

Leave a Reply

