Working on changing my career path

Things are very different in France and in the US. You don’t change your career path the way you do in the US.

Let me give you an example of what you have to face in France.

A friend of mine in high school had a very smart and educated father. He had two master degrees in fields that were different but linked to each other since one was in computer enginering and the other one in mathematics I think.
When he applied to a job the guy in front of him asked him what he had a master in.
So the father answered that he had two master degrees and indicated the fields he had them in.
To which the man asked again “yes but…what did you graduate in?”
And the conversation went on this way for a few minutes.
The father did not get the job because the guy could not figure out what the man had a degree in.

I know I have a talent for photography but I also know I need to learn a lot more before I can really settle as a professional. I mean I have seen professionals doing pictures of lesser quality than mine but this is not what I am aiming at. So I have decided to work on learning and progressing but I just anticipate and dread the lack of “out of the box” thinking that I am going to encounter from the administration which will make possible or not for me or not to achieve my goal.

Feeling a little low tonight can you tell?

2 thoughts on “Working on changing my career path

  1. hmmm, sorry you’re kind of down. Hope things look up soon. From the pictures I’ve seen, I think you’d make a great photographer. I hope you’ll be able to get the training/education you need to pursue it further. And I hope the bureacracy you have to go through doesn’t drive you crazy!

  2. Thank you. I was just feeling a little low. I think things will turn out ok because I am planing things way ahead and not waiting to be in a situation of need. I think I am doing things the right and smart way so things will probably turn out ok 🙂

Leave a Reply

